Excellence in peer review training programs - Editor Resources

We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By closing this message, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

Excellence in Peer Review: Expert Peer Review Training

Peer review plays a key role in the dissemination of scholarly research output, and at Taylor & Francis we work to establish and sustain the highest standards of peer review. A vital part of this means ensuring that reviewers have the right resources and skills to carry out their work efficiently and effectively.

 ‘Excellence in Peer Review: Taylor & Francis Reviewer Training Network’ was launched in 2019 to support researchers in becoming more effective peer reviewers. This training network  aims to give clear practical advice to researchers to improve the quality of the reviews they provide, as well as introducing the key principles to those who are newer to the review process.

The training program is delivered through in-person or online workshops. Once you have been part of a workshop, participants who are experienced enough to become reviewers and who would like further experience have the opportunity to be linked with journals within their subject area. All the workshops are free and most events offer certificates to participants who complete the training. 

Online training modules are also available, providing guidance on how to critically assess articles. These videos can be used in addition to attending a workshop or as independent self-learning modules. Remember that there is much more content in the workshops if you want to know more! You can also test your knowledge of being a peer reviewer with our quiz

Who should participate?

  • Researchers who want to gain experience as peer reviewers, who have some experience of publishing as authors
  • Experienced peer reviewers who are looking to improve their skills

Upcoming training events:

  • Will be coming soon……

Past events:

  • 17th February  2022: 08:30-10:00 GMT / 10:30-12:00 CAT / 14:00-15:30 IST. How to be an effective peer reviewer – webinar suitable for researchers in science, technology, engineering and medical research fields. English language. 
  • 24th March 2022: 08:30-10:00 GMT / 10:30-12:00 CAT / 14:00-15:30 IST. How to be an effective peer reviewer – webinar suitable for researchers in humanities, social sciences, arts and related research fields. English language. 
  • 7th April 2022:  2:00 PM – 3:30 PM CST (北京时间), Excellence in Peer Review: 同行评议卓越计划 – 自然科学技术专场. Chinese language. 
  • 19th April 2022: 2:00 PM – 3:30 PM CST (北京时间), Excellence in Peer Review: 同行评议卓越计划 – 人文社科专场. Chinese language. 
  • 21st April 2022: 09:30-11:00 GMT / 11:30-13:00 CAT / 15:00-16:30 IST, How to be an effective peer reviewer – webinar suitable for all subjects. English language. 
  • 10th May 2022:  2:00 PM – 3:30 PM CST (北京时间), Excellence in Peer Review: 同行评议卓越计划 – 自然科学技术专场. Chinese language. 
  • 19th May 2022: 08:30-10:00 GMT / 10:30-12:00 CAT / 14:00-15:30 IST, How to be an effective peer reviewer – webinar suitable for all subjects. English language. 
  • 23rd June 2022: 08:30-10:00 GMT / 10:30-12:00 CAT / 14:00-15:30 IST, How to be an effective peer reviewer – webinar suitable for all subjects. English language. 
  • 10th August 2022: 08:30-10:00 GMT / 10:30-12:00 CAT / 14:00-15:30 IST, How to be an effective peer reviewer – webinar suitable for all subjects. English language. 
  • 14th September 2022: 08:30-10:00 GMT / 10:30-12:00 CAT / 14:00-15:30 IST, How to be an effective peer reviewer – webinar suitable for all subjects. English language. 
  • 21st September 2022: 14:00-15:30 GMT/ 15:00-16:30 BST, How to be an effective peer reviewer – webinar suitable for all subjects. English language. 
  • 22nd September 2022: 15:00-16:00 (北京时间), 为什么我的文章被拒? 中文. 
  • 11st October 2022: 08:30-10:00 GMT / 10:30-12:00 CAT / 14:00-15:30 IST, How to be an effective peer reviewer – webinar suitable for all subjects. English language. 

    Read the highlights from our workshops in China and India in 2019.

    Online training modules

    We have developed a series of online training modules to support your peer review learning. There are six bitesize videos only 3-5 minutes long, and they can be accessed at a time that suits you. These videos can be used in addition to attending a workshop or as independent self-learning modules. Remember that there is much more content in the workshops if you want to know more! 

    Click the links below to open the videos in YouTube.

    How do I sign up?

    We have a responsibility to the journals taking part in this program to make sure the peer reviewers we pass to them have completed the training program and have enough knowledge to take on the reviewer role effectively. 

    We have built a quiz to test your knowledge. If you complete this quiz successfully then you will be invited to register your details as a volunteer. 

    We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By closing this message, you are consenting to our use of cookies.